MINUTES Of the Special Called Meeting of The Claiborne Parish Police Jury January 5, 2015 6:30 p.m. Jury Room CP Library Events Center Homer, LA 71040

The Claiborne Parish Police Jury met in a legally convened special session in the Special Events Center of the Claiborne Parish Library, located at 909 Edgewood Drive in Homer, LA at 6:30 p.m. on the fifth day of January, 2015. On being called to order by President Scott Davidson, the following jurors were present:

D'arcy Stevens, Mark Furlow, Robert "Bob" McDaniel, Joe Sturges, Lavelle Penix, Roy Mardis and Jerry Adkins.

Rev. Willie Young, Sr. was absent.

District 7 Juror's seat was unfilled due to Roy Lewis being elected the Mayor of the Town of Homer.

There were 41 others in attendance which included, Secretary-Treasurer Dwayne R. Woodard, Road Superintendent Tommy Durrett, Claiborne Parish Sheriff Ken Bailey, Ms. Jackie Roberts of Haynesville News, Mrs. Jenni Williams of the Guardian Journal, Dr. Sam Abshire, Dr. Cliff Salmon, Mr. Rand Kilgore of CPHSD #3, Mrs. Lisa Ledbetter of CMMC, Mr. Jim Colvin – Attorney for CMMC, Mr. Derrick Frazier – CEO of CMMC, Mr. Ronald Day, Mr. Chic Hines, Mr. Danny Suggs, Mrs. Pam Suggs – CP Library Director, Mr. Vince Ory, Mr. Al Faulk of CPHSD #3, Mrs. Teresa McDaniel, Mr. Dump Hatter of Haynesville, Mr. Joe Merritt of Homer, Mr. Darden Gladney, Mrs. June Lee of CMMC, Mr. Bobby Bouillion of CMMC, Mrs. Camille Abshire, Mr. & Mrs. Buddy Minchew, Mr. & Mrs. Jimmy Hand of Homer, Attorney Daniel Bays, Mr. Alan Fanning, Mrs. Alice Fanning – FNP, Mr. Mark Brown – CPHSD #3, Rev. Brian Thurman – FBC Homer, Mr. Will Colvin – CMMC, Mrs. Martha Trinko of Haynesville, Mrs. Beverly Kilgore of CPHSD #3, Mr. Keith Kilgore of CPHSD #1, Mrs. Linda Knox of Haynesville and Mrs. Kaylin French.

The meeting was opened with a word of Prayer led by Mr. Roy Mardis, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance by Mr. Bob McDaniel.

Upon motion by Roy Mardis, duly seconded by Joe Sturges, the Jury unanimously voted to adopt the agenda as presented.

At this time, President Scott Davidson listed the names of individuals who had sent in letters expressing interest in serving the vacant position of Juror for District 7 of Claiborne Parish. Those names were – Mr. Joe Merritt of 1302 Adams Ave. who plans to run for the seat in the fall election, Mr. Barry Carter of 117 Beech St. who plans to run for the seat in the fall and Mr. George W. Tigner III of 716 Beverly Dr. who does not plan for run for the seat in the fall.

President Davidson then opened the floor for nominations of these individuals to be voted upon by the Police Jury to serve as District 7 Juror.

Mr. Roy Mardis nominated Mr. Joe Merritt for consideration; this was duly seconded by Mr. Joe Sturges.

Mr. Lavelle Penix nominated Mr. George Tigner, III for consideration; this was duly seconded by Mr. Jerry Adkins.

Mr. Mark Furlow nominated Mr. Barry Carter for consideration; the nominated failed due to a lack of a second.

President Davidson placed the individuals before the Jury in alphabetical order and asked for a show of hands for those in support of each candidate.

Mr. Joe Merritt's name was placed before the Jury and he received two (2) votes – Mardis and Sturges.

Mr. George W. Tigner, III's name was placed before the Jury and received (6) six votes – Stevens, Furlow, McDaniel, Davidson, Penix and Adkins.

Mr. Tigner was elected by a 6-2 vote to serve out the unexpired portion of the District 7 Police Juror's term.

At this time the Police Jury entered into the Public Hearing for public input for the proposed parish wide ½ cent sales tax in support of the Claiborne Memorial Medical Center.

At this time the President opened the floor for discussion and the meeting then moved into a period of open discussion on the proposed tax.

Mrs. Frances Minchew began the lengthy discussion in favor of the hospital by stating that a sales tax was the fairest way to call a tax in support of the hospital.

Mr. Jimmy Hand asked how much revenue the proposed tax would generate. Claiborne Parish Police Jury Secretary-Treasurer Dwayne R. Woodard responded with approximately \$700,000 to \$750,000 inside and outside the city limits should be generated annually by a ½ cent sales tax.

Mr. Jimmy Hands asked if this would be a permanent tax. Secretary-Treasurer Woodard responded with, no, it will be for 10 years with a sunset and then go back up for renewal, if needed.

Mr. Dump Hatter asked how these funds would be utilized. Jim Colvin, Attorney for CMMC responded that this money would be used to offset loss revenue from private pay funding that is written off by the hospital, along with the normal expenses it takes to maintain the hospital.

Mr. Ronald Day told the Jury and the Board he was in favor of keeping the hospital because we need a hospital in Claiborne Parish to be viable for future growth.

Mrs. April Hand asked if this proposition would be on the next election date. President Scott Davidson said, yes, if the Police Jury approves it to be placed on the ballot, it will be on the March 28, 2015 election ballot.

Attorney Jim Colvin gave a statistic that only 32 rural hospitals are public owned and 28 of them are supported by some type of public tax. President Scott Davidson reminded everyone that in the late 1980's and early 1990's there was a property tax in parts of the Parish that supported the hospital. When the hospital was back in good standing, the tax was cancelled because it was no longer needed.

Mr. Dump Hatter wanted to note that he was very much for the hospital and felt this tax could bring better services to the community.

Juror Lavelle Penix wanted to know what was the Board's plan if this doesn't work and, if the Hospital Board would call a property tax? President Scott Davidson responded that a property tax would be very small and if the hospital was in as bad of financial trouble as it appears to be, there would be no need to do this because it could not generate the amount needed to support the hospital.

Alan Fanning asked if the money is not needed, what happens to the money generated. President Scott Davidson told him, it would go into a reserve for future need.

At this time, President Scott Davidson recognized the members of the Claiborne Memorial Medical Center Board:

Mr. Derrick Frazier – Administrator/CEO Jim Colvin - CMMC Legal Counsel Mark Brown – Chair (District 9 & 10) Al Faulk (District 5 & 6) Rand Kilgore (District 3 & 4) Beverly Kilgore (District 1 & 2) James Scriber (District 7 & 8) Sherman Brown (at-large) Dr. Sam Abshire – Doctor Dr. Mark Haynes – Doctor

Juror Lavelle Penix asked Derrick Frazier how much money was not being collected by wrong coding and he also asked how much money was being lost by non-payment? Mr. Derrick Frazier responded that there was no wrong coding being written off and that the non-payment was about \$350,000 per month or 90% of private pay. He also stated, we have to treat people who come to the hospital and have no insurance.

Juror Robert McDaniel stated he was well pleased with this board. He told how every member was chosen to make it a Parish wide board and this board has done their job well in improving the hospital.

<u>Closing Public Comments:</u>

There were none.

Upon motion by Lavelle Penix, duly seconded by Joe Sturges, the meeting was adjourned.

Dwayne R. Woodard Secretary–Treasurer Scott Davidson President